Home‎ > ‎

About Us

Welcome to North Whiteville Academy

North Whiteville Academy is an alternative school for Central Middle School and Whiteville High School students. Placement and duration at the alternative school is determined by a committee.  Our goal is to return the students to the regular school setting as soon as their behavior and/or credits allow them to be successful at their home school. 

Instructional Team

Angela Bullard abullard@whiteville.k12.nc.us

 6-8 Science & 6-8 Math  

Sherill Bordeaux sbordeaux@whiteville.k12.nc.us  

 6-8 ELA 

Lisa Gurkin lgurkin@whiteville.k12.nc.us

 9-12 Math

Fielding Hammond    

 fhammond@whiteville.k12.nc.us   6-8 Social Studies
Cherlene Harrelson charrelson@whiteville.k12.nc.us 9-12 Social Studies
Jami Hinson jhinson@whiteville.k12.nc.us

 9-12 Science
Amber Meares            ameares@whiteville.k12.nc.us 9-12 English

 Stacy Boren

 sboren@whiteville.k12.nc.us     9-12 Online Facilitator



Grading Scale  (Effective 2015-2016 School Year)

 A

 90 - 100

 B

 80 - 89

 C

 70 - 79

 D

 60 - 69

 F

  0  - 59





School Hours     (Updated Bell Times)

 7:50- 7:55

 School Begins/Tardy Bell

 7:50 - 8:10 

 Breakfast / Enrichment

 8:10 - 9:40

 1st Period

      9:43 - 11:13     

 2nd Period

   11:16 - 12:46     

 3rd Period

     12:50 - 1:16          

 Lunch

1:20 - 2:50 

4th Period

 




Early Release Schedule       (Updated Bell Times)

 7:50 - 7:55

 School Begins/Tardy Bell

 7:50 - 8:05 

 Breakfast / Enrichment

8:05 - 8:55

 1st Period

 8:58 - 9:48     

 2nd Period

   9:51 - 10:41     

 3rd Period

        10:44 - 11:34          

4th Period 

11:35 - 11:50

Lunch



2 Hour Delay Schedule     (Updated Bell Times)

   9:50 - 9:55

 School Begins/Tardy Bell

 9:50 - 10:10

 Breakfast / Enrichment

 10:10 - 11:10

 1st Period

 11:13 - 12:13

 2nd Period

      12:16 - 12:46       

 3rd Period

      12:49 - 1:14         

Lunch 

 1:17 - 1:47

3rd Period (cont.) 

 1:50 - 2:50

 4th Period