Home‎ > ‎

About Us

Welcome to North Whiteville Academy

North Whiteville Academy is an alternative school for Central Middle School and Whiteville High School students. Placement and duration at the alternative school is determined by a committee.  Our goal is to return the students to the regular school setting as soon as their behavior and/or credits allow them to be successful at their home school. 

Our Team

Susan Smith smsmith@whiteville.k12.nc.us

 Principal 

Kesha Brown

 kbrown@whiteville.k12.nc.us   Guidance Counselor
Amy White

 awhite@whiteville.k12.nc.us 6-8 ELA & Social Studies
TBA  

 6-8 Math & Science

Jennifer Dorman

 jdorman@whiteville.k12.nc.us 9-12 Social Studies
Lisa Gurkin lgurkin@whiteville.k12.nc.us 9-12 Math
Jami Hinson jhinson@whiteville.k12.nc.us

 9-12 Science
Amber Meares            ameares@whiteville.k12.nc.us 9-12 English
Keith Ransom 

 kransom@whiteville.k12.nc.us  6-12 CTE

Quiche Slacks

 qslacks@whiteville.k12..nc.us 9-12 Online Facilitator
Ginger Bass
Alisia Long
 gbass@whiteville.k12.nc.us
 along@whiteville.k12.nc.us
 6-12 Exceptional Children
Kathy Nealey         knealey@whiteville.k12.nc.us     School Nurse

Beth Harper

 bharper@whiteville.k12.nc.us Data Manager/Bookkeeper/Secretary
Gary Vereen gvereen@whiteville.k12.nc.us Custodian




Grading Scale  (Effective 2015-2016 School Year)

 A

 90 - 100

 B

 80 - 89

 C

 70 - 79

 D

 60 - 69

 F

  0  - 59





                                 High School Hours                      

 7:50- 7:55

 School Begins/Tardy Bell

 7:50 - 8:10 

 Breakfast / Enrichment

 8:10 - 9:40

 1st Period

      9:43 - 11:13     

 2nd Period

   11:16 - 12:46     

 3rd Period

     12:50 - 1:16          

 Lunch

1:20 - 2:50 

4th Period



                             Middle School Hours 
 
 7:50- 7:55  School Begins/Tardy Bell 

 7:50 - 8:10  Breakfast / Enrichment

 8:15 - 9:17 1st Period - ELA

 9:20 - 10:27  2nd Period - Math

 10:30 - 11:20     3rd Period - CTE

11:30 - 12:00     4th Period - Health / PE

12:05 - 12:30  Lunch

 12:33 - 1:40 5th Period - Social Studies

1:43 - 2:50 6th Period - Science




                                Early Release Schedule      

 7:50 - 7:55

 School Begins/Tardy Bell

 7:50 - 8:05 

 Breakfast / Enrichment

8:05 - 8:55

1st Period

   8:58 - 9:48      

 2nd Period

   9:51 - 10:41     

 3rd Period

                10:44 - 11:34          

4th Period 

11:35 - 12:00

Lunch





                                 2 Hour Delay Schedule    

   9:50 - 9:55

 School Begins/Tardy Bell

 9:50 - 10:10

 Breakfast / Enrichment

 10:10 - 11:10

 1st Period

 11:13 - 12:13

 2nd Period

      12:16 - 12:46       

 3rd Period

      12:49 - 1:14         

Lunch 

 1:17 - 1:47

3rd Period (cont.) 

 1:50 - 2:50

 4th Period