Home‎ > ‎

About Us

Welcome to North Whiteville Academy

North Whiteville Academy is an alternative school for Central Middle School and Whiteville High School students. Placement and duration at the alternative school is determined by a committee.  Our goal is to return the students to the regular school setting as soon as their behavior and/or credits allow them to be successful at their home school. 

Our Team

Susan Smith smsmith@whiteville.k12.nc.us

 Principal 

 Lori Hinson

 lhinson@whiteville.k12.nc.us 6-8 Science & 6-8 ELA 
Serena Smith      sksmith@whiteville.k12.nc.us

 6-8 Social Studies

TBA -----------@whiteville.k12.nc.us  

 6-8 Math

Jennifer Dorman

 jdorman@whiteville.k12.nc.us 9-12 Social Studies
Lisa Gurkin lgurkin@whiteville.k12.nc.us 9-12 Math
Jami Hinson jhinson@whiteville.k12.nc.us

 9-12 Science
Amber Meares            ameares@whiteville.k12.nc.us 9-12 English
Keith Ransom 

 kransom@whiteville.k12.nc.us  9-12 CTE
Quiche Slacks    

 qslacks@whiteville.k12..nc.us 9-12 Online Facilitator
 Kesha Brown

 kbrown@whiteville.k12.nc.us  School Counselor
 Beth Harper

bharper@whiteville.k12.nc.us Data Manager/Bookkeeper/Secretary
Ronald Lewis 


 rlewis@whiteville.k12.nc.us Custodian



Grading Scale  (Effective 2015-2016 School Year)

 A

 90 - 100

 B

 80 - 89

 C

 70 - 79

 D

 60 - 69

 F

  0  - 59





                                 School Hours     

 7:50- 7:55

 School Begins/Tardy Bell

 7:50 - 8:10 

 Breakfast / Enrichment

 8:10 - 9:40

 1st Period

      9:43 - 11:13     

 2nd Period

   11:16 - 12:46     

 3rd Period

     12:50 - 1:16          

 Lunch

1:20 - 2:50 

4th Period

 




                                Early Release Schedule      

 7:50 - 7:55

 School Begins/Tardy Bell

 7:50 - 8:10 

 Breakfast / Enrichment

8:10 - 9:00

 1st Period

   9:03 - 9:53     

 2nd Period

   9:56 - 10:46     

 3rd Period

                10:49 - 11:39          

4th Period 

11:42 - 12:00

Lunch



                                 2 Hour Delay Schedule    

   9:50 - 9:55

 School Begins/Tardy Bell

 9:50 - 10:10

 Breakfast / Enrichment

 10:10 - 11:10

 1st Period

 11:13 - 12:13

 2nd Period

      12:16 - 12:46       

 3rd Period

      12:49 - 1:14         

Lunch 

 1:17 - 1:47

3rd Period (cont.) 

 1:50 - 2:50

 4th Period